General facts

Kyrgyzstan is a mountainous Central Asian country bordering on Kazakhstan on the north, Uzbekistan on the west, Tadjikistan on the south and China on its East and South-East. Kyrgyzstan became independent from the USSR in 1991 and since then it is considered to be a democratic Parliamentary Republic. The country's population can make about 6 million inhabitants and occupies an area of 198.500 km2   and  Bishkek, (formerly named Frunze), is a capital city with more that 1 million inhabitants.

Bishkek - 74 (East that is similar to New Delhi).

Bishkek - 42 (North that is similar to Istanbul, Madrid, New York. 

Highest point is spotted at Victory Peak (7437 m) 
Lowest point is the Laikal district in the Ferghana Valley (401 m)
Average  is 2750 m
Bishkek is at 750 m 
93% of the territory of Kyrgyzstan is higher than 1500 meters, and 41%- above 3000m. 

The total area of Kyrgyzstan is 198,500 sq. km (76641 sq. miles)
it can be similar to England and can be similar to Portugal, Switzerland, Belgium and the Netherlands.
Length from East to West is 925 km and from North to South- 453 km 
The total length of Kyrgyzstan's borders reaches to 4508 km.

Neighboring Countries
are China, Kazakhstan, Tajikistan, Uzbekistan. 

over five million people
density 24 per sq. km    
38% making urban, 62% - rural
51% - female, 49% - male
Almost every sixth of the population lives in Bishkek.
Over 50% of the population makes ethnic Kyrgyz people among the other 70 nationalities. The main ones are:     


 17% of the population are ethnic Russians, 13% are Uzbeks, Ukrainians, Germans and Tartars.
40% of the population is under 14 years old and 8% is over 60 years old.
As soon as Kyrgyzstan received its independence there was an extensive emigration of ethnic Russians and Germans in response to the increasing number of unemployed and Kyrgyz nationalism.

Religion (Kyrgyzstan does not have a state religion but most practiced religions include Islam (of Sunni branch), and Russian Orthodox.

The Kyrgyz language has a status of a state language. The official is Russian (in common use especially in Bishkek area).

Life Expectancy
According to the statistics done in 1995: men live at average to 63.9 while women up to 72.6

The Kyrgyz Parliament ("Jogorku Kenesh") is characterized by a single chamber of 120 members.
(Since Kyrgyzstan received its independence the formation of the Jogorku Kenesh was changed few times - sometime with a single chamber and at other times with two chambers: the Legislative Assembly (Lower House, 60 members) and the Assembly of People's Representatives (Upper House, 45 members))
Parliament is elected every 5 years.

National symbols
include National Flag and Emblem.

Administrative structure:
The country is divided into 8 administrative districts and seven regions (called "oblasts"):
Chu Oblast,
Issyk-Kul Oblast,
Talas Oblast,
Naryn Oblast,
Osh Oblast,
Djalal-Abad Oblast,
Batken Oblast,
with the capital city of Bishkek.
The oblasts are divided into 39 counties (called rayons). Bishkek has 4 counties. Therefore rayons consist of 429 local communities (Ail okmotu).

Membership of international organizations:
United Nations (and its specialized agencies such as UNDP, UNESCO, UNICEF, UNIDO, UNHCR), IOM, WHO, FAO, ILO; CIS, GIS, Central Asian Economic Community, ECO, World Bank, IMF, EBRD, IDB, ICAO, OECD, OSCE, Intelsat, WTO - World Trade Organization, WTO World Tourism Organization, Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO).
We will glad to provide information that will make your travel here easier: 
Traditional clothes
Felt show
Folklore show
History of Kyrgyzstan